2022 US Open Individual Awards Named in Honor of US Handball Legends

by USA Team Handball

US Open Awards Namesakes

Left column from top: Peter Buehning, Cindy Stinger, Sandor Rivnyak
Right column from top: Jan O'Shea, Pam Boyd

Beginning in 2022, and in conjunction with the US Team Handball Foundation, USA Team Handball's most prestigious individual awards from the US Open Club National Championships will be renamed to honor the legacies of several pioneers in US handball. The namesakes are Peter Buehning Sr., who along with his wife Renata, helped bring the game of handball to the United States, Sandor Rivnyak, two-time Olympian (1972, 1976), Cindy Stinger, three-time Olympian (1984, 1988, 1992), Pam Boyd, Olympian in 1984, and Jan O'Shea, USA Team Handball volunteer of more than three decades.

The awards are as follows:

  • Peter Buehning Men's Elite Most Valuable Player
  • Sandor Rivnyak Men's Elite Most Valuable Goalkeeper
  • Cindy Stinger Women's Most Valuable Player
  • Pam Boyd Women's Most Valuable Goalkeeper
  • Jan O'Shea Leadership Award

These awards will be given out on Sunday, May 15, in Adrian, Michigan, following the conclusion of the 2022 US Open Club National Championships



USA Team Handball logo

About Us

  • About USATH
  • History

Try Team Handball

Team USA and USA Team Handball Logos

© 2023 Copyright USA Team Handball - All Rights Reserved.